2014 Rhysling Award Winners

Rhysling2014CoverLast week, the Science Fiction Poetry Association (SFPA) announced the winners of the 2014 Rhysling Awards. The SFPA awards the Rhysling in two length categories for the best science fiction, fantasy, or horror poem published during the previous year.

Short Poem Category (less than 50 lines):

First Place: “Turning the Leaves” by Amal El-Motar, Apex Magazine 55

Second Place: “Rivers” by Geoffrey A. Landis, Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2013

Third Place: “Music of the Stars” by Bruce Boston, 2013 Balticon Program Book

Long Poem Category (50 or more lines)

First Place: “Interregnum” by Mary Soon Lee, Star*Line 36.4

Second Place: “Hungry Constellations” by Mike Allen, Goblin Fruit, Fall 2013

Third Place: “I will show you a single treasure from the treasures of Shah Niyaz” by Rose Lemberg, Goblin Fruit, Summer 2013

Congratulations to the winners, runner-ups, and all the nominees. Looking forward to another year of great speculative poetry.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s