Getting Bloggy with It

cropped-nebula_image1.jpgI’m new to this blogging thing. In fact, up until I started my own blog I could count on one hand the minutes I’d spent reading other blogs. Didn’t much care. Thought that I could get more of writing speculative poetry by spending time actually writing it than writing about writing it. Besides, I’ve never been at a loss for reading material.

Thing is, I’m pursuing (among other things) a Technical Writing Advanced Certificate from Delta College. One of my courses is New Media Writing, which requires that I maintain a blog. The subject was a no-brainer for me: write what you know. As for the ins and outs of the blogosphere, however, I had no choice but to dive in and try not to make a fool of myself.

Skip ahead two months…

Turns out that this blogging gig is much better than I expected. I do get something out of writing posts about speculative poetry, as reading posts by other bloggers on a variety of topics, such as:

  • A better understanding of my writing process
  • A more intimate knowledge of why I’ve written some of my poems
  • A better understanding of my own writing process through the thoughts of other bloggers
  • A more enjoyable experience than I could have imagined

This post may be the last one required for my class, but I will continue to post for as long as I am able. I love blogging, and I love reading posts by other bloggers, no matter how opinionated.

A few weeks ago, I shared some links to publishers of speculative poetry. My efforts didn’t go to waste because each link has been clicked at least once. One of these days I’ll get my blog sorted out and post a proper list in the sidebar. And since I’m going to do that, I’ll have to post a proper blogroll too. But until then, here are some links to blogs that post or discuss speculative poetry of one flavor or another.

AstroPoetAmee Astropoetry with images and plenty of astronomy links

Tychogirl Astropoetry with a graphical bent.

Bizarre Lag Phenomena Science Poetry often accompanied by images

The Diva’s Divine Days The blog of Diane Severson Mori.  Reviews and links to speculative poetry of all types.

The Finch and the Pea Occasionally highlights poems with a science theme

SCy-Fy: the blog of S. C. Flynn Great speculative poems mixed in with plenty of other science fiction stuff.

static continuity Science fiction and horror poetry

Lastly, here’s a link to DigiCommons, my Professor’s blog. Plenty of info on improving your New Media Writing skills.

One thought on “Getting Bloggy with It

  1. Thanks for the linky link! I’m looking forward to the other blogs you linked to – I only know one of them! And I could definitely use the last one (to your prof)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

